worldofnanax.blogg.se

Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10
Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10





usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10
  1. #Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10 windows 10
  2. #Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10 Pc

I only have those so I usually put a paper to hide the hole in the floppy cases indicating the 1.44 MB format.

usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10

Point 2 is sometime an issue if you use 1.44 floppy disks.

  • the drive must detect the floppy as a 720K.
  • only some chipsets (in the USB drive) support 720K, usually older chipsets.
  • I successfully formated 720K on win10 by respecting the two conditions:

    #Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10 Pc

    On the off chance someone Googles this in future, here is the answer.in my case I am transferring files from a PC over to an Atari ST and I can confirm that this worked with the Atari and that the disk was also writeable in the Atari drive. I am lucky enough to have a DD floppy lying about, not everyone is. Volume label (11 characters, ENTER for none)? CREATOR

    usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10

    Initializing the File Allocation Table (FAT). So then I tried with a Double Density floppy and I got: C:\Users\J>format a: /T:80 /N:9 I tried it with a High Density floppy disk and it gave me Parameters not supported by drive. You have to use a proper Double Density floppy disk, not a High Density one. This will work with the USB floppy drive you have mentioned, a Chuanganzhuo one, using Windows 10. Another option, which is very convenient, could be to use a floppy emulator such as the HxC in the Tandy or use a HD drive in the Tandy, if that’s supported. If your USB drive really doesn’t support DD disks, a nicer option for file-transfer might be a null-modem cable and LapLink or InterSrv on DOS 6. You can use DD disks as HD by drilling an extra hole but then you’re taking your chances with the magnetic support. An HD disk can be formatted as a DD in a HD drive, but as mentioned previously will be unreliable in a DD drive an HD disk formatted as a DD in a DD drive will work fine. An HD drive can theoretically operate in both modes (and will do so automatically with a DD disk). A DD disk will always end up formatted in double-density, and a DD drive will always format in double-density. Note that the holes in disks’ cases don’t determine the formats one-for-one. All is not lost though: you should format your disks in the Tandy’s drive (when you get it), and check whether your USB drive can then read and write the disks (but keep some disks aside that will only ever be written to using the Tandy’s drive). High-density and double-density disks use magnetic media with different coercivity, requiring different field strengths to write data a double-density drive can’t reliably format or alter a disk that’s been written to by a high-density drive. However since your intention is to use these disks to transfer files to and from a computer with a double-density drive, this approach is likely to be unreliable anyway. If you have a Linux system handy, you can determine your drives’ capabilities by querying it with ufiformat -i. To see what it does - USB drives control formatting themselves, so this should do the right thing if it supports double-density disks. It is still worth trying a plain format a: There are some USB drives which support double-density disks and formats, but as you suspect, not all of them. Invalid media or Track 0 bad - disk unusable. On Stephen Kitt's suggestion, I tried a standard "format a:" but it didn't work. But it was highly rated on Amazon and some people even said they used this exact drive to format 720K. Is this possible or am I going to have to do something else? I plan on swapping my Tandy 1000 EX's 5.25" drive with a 3.5" version and I'd like to transfer images over that way (sneaker-net). It's also the disk that only has the one hole. The disk I'm using should be good but I cannot completely confirm. Just like the message said, the format failed. When I did that, here is what I got: format a: /f:720 One instance said to use the following command at the DOS prompt: format a: /f:720

    #Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10 windows 10

    Even with Windows 10 (which is what I'm using). But then I read several posts online where people say they have done it. I've read many times that USB floppy drives will not format (or read/write) 720K disks.







    Usb floppy emulator v2 crash windows 10